video overview

IIr Associates, Inc.
Publisher of The Virginia Engineer

Print-Publishing Services
Web Site Design-Coding-Hosting
Business Consulting

Phone: (804) 779-3527

ASCE Names Honorary Members
September 29, 2004

The American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) recently named
13 exemplary civil engineers as Honorary Members. The members were chosen for their contributions to the field of civil engineering through education, research and professional activities. The awards will be presented on Saturday, October 23, 2004, at the Honorary Members Luncheon during ASCE’s annual Civil Engineering Conference and Exposition in Baltimore, Maryland.

The 2004 Honorary Members are:

  • Robert J. Desjardins, P.E., vice chairman and executive vice president of Cianbro Corporation, Pittsfield, Maine, for eminence as a civil engineer-constructor and for exemplifying the high ethical standards to which all civil engineering professionals should strive.
  • Dr. John D. Haltiwanger, P.E., emeritus professor of civil engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, for being an outstanding educator and civil engineer and contributing immensely to the security of his country through research in protective structures.
  • Lt. General Henry J. Hatch, P.E., former Commander of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, for his ongoing leadership in sustainable development and for sponsoring engineering expertise initiatives within the U.S. Engineering community.
  • Dr. Russel C. Jones, P.E., World Expertise, LLC managing partner, for his lifetime commitment to engineering education.
  • Dr. Emory L. Kemp, emeritus professor of history and civil engineering, West Virginia University, for his international leadership in the history of civil engineering, industrial archaeology and historic preservation.
  • James L. Martin, P.E., former director of public works for the City of Fresno, California, for his innovation and leadership in the field of public works.
  • Dr. Priscilla P. Nelson, director of the Civil and Mechanical Systems Division of the National Science Foundation, for her leadership in underground design and construction and for creating programs to decrease the vulnerability of the nation’s infrastructure.
  • James R. Nichols, P.E., chairman emeritus, Freese and Nichols, Inc., Fort Worth, Texas, for his distinguished 53-year civil engineering career serving the public welfare.
  • Kyle E. Schilling, P.E., former director of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Institute for Water Resources and the Water Resources Support Center, for his state and national leadership in the development of water resources planning and management.
  • Saw-Teen See, P.E., managing partner, Leslie E. Robertson Associates, for her innovative contributions to the field of structural engineering through the design of many of the world’s signature buildings.
  • Dr. Stuart G. Walesh, P.E., civil engineering consultant, for more than four decades of distinguished leadership and service in the civil engineering profession.
  • Dr. Richard D. Woods, P.E., N.A.E., F.ASCE, emeritus professor of civil engineering, University of Michigan, for 35 years of distinguished service to civil engineering as a teacher, researcher and consulting engineer.
  • Dr. Tien H. Wu, emeritus professor of civil engineering, the Ohio State University, for his significant contributions to the field of geotechnical engineering.

  ------   News Item Archive  -----  
The Virginia Engineer on facebook
The Virginia Engineer RSS Feed