video overview

IIr Associates, Inc.
Publisher of The Virginia Engineer

Print-Publishing Services
Web Site Design-Coding-Hosting
Business Consulting

Phone: (804) 779-3527

NAA Announces Nominees For Collier Trophy
February 25, 2020

The National Aeronautic Association (NAA) has announced the nine aviation and space achievements that will compete for the 2019 Robert J. Collier Trophy for excellence in aeronautics and astronautics in America.

The Collier Trophy is given in recognition of achievement in aeronautics for improving the safety and efficiency of air and space vehicles. For 108 years, the Collier Trophy has been the benchmark of aerospace achievement. Awarded annually “… for the greatest achievement in aeronautics or astronautics in America,” it has been bestowed upon some of the most important projects, programs, individuals and accomplishments in history.

Past winners include the crews of Apollo 11 and Apollo 8, the Mercury 7, Scott Crossfield, Elmer Sperry, Howard Hughes and Orville Wright. Projects and programs that have been the recipient of the Collier include the B-52, the Boeing 747, the Cessna Citation, the F-22 and the International Space Station. The five most recent recipients of the Collier Trophy are the Automatic Ground Collision Avoidance System Team; the Cirrus Aircraft Vision Jet; the Blue Origin New Shepard Team; the NASA/JPL Dawn Mission Team; and the Gulfstream G650.

“Some of history’s greatest technological feats have received the Collier,” said NAA President Greg Principato. “The nominees this year are very much in that tradition, spanning aeronautics and astronautics and including many new technologies and approaches to solving problems. The nominee that comes away with the Collier this year will truly have earned the distinction of Greatest Achievement.”

The Collier Trophy Selection Committee will meet April 2, 2020 in Arlington, Virginia, and the recipient will be announced publicly on April 3, 2020. The formal presentation of the Collier Trophy will take place June 11, 2020 at a location to be determined.

The 2019 Robert J. Collier Trophy nominees include:
• Airborne Collision Avoidance System Team
NASA/Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi Lone Star UAS Center of Excellence & Innovation
• Bombardier Global 7500
• Gulfstream G500 and G600
• Hubble Space Telescope Team
• magni500 Electric Propulsion System
• Project Heaviside
• Stratolaunch Carrier Aircraft
• The United States Air Force-Boeing X37B Orbital Test Vehicle Team

  ------   News Item Archive  -----  
The Virginia Engineer on facebook
The Virginia Engineer RSS Feed