video overview

IIr Associates, Inc.
Publisher of The Virginia Engineer

Print-Publishing Services
Web Site Design-Coding-Hosting
Business Consulting

Phone: (804) 779-3527

NAE Announces Engineering Profession Awards
October 13, 2020

During their 2020 annual meeting, the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) presented two awards for extraordinary impact on the engineering profession. The Simon Ramo Founders Award was presented to Frances S. Ligler for her research contributions and leadership in engineering. The Arthur M. Bueche Award was presented to Arden L. Bement Jr. for his contributions to technology research, policy, and national and international cooperation.

Part of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, the mission of the NAE is to advance the well-being of the nation by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and by marshaling the expertise and insights of eminent engineers to provide independent advice to the federal government on matters involving engineering and technology. The NAE is

Frances S. Ligler is the Ross Lampe Distinguished Professor of Biomedical Engineering in the Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering in the College of Engineering at North Carolina State University and the School of Medicine and College of Arts and Sciences at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Ligler is being recognized with the Simon Ramo Founders Award “for the invention and development of portable optical biosensors, service to the nation and profession, and educating the next, more diverse generation of engineers.” The award acknowledges outstanding professional, educational, and personal achievements to the benefit of society and includes a commemorative medal.

Prof. Ligler is currently working in the fields of biosensors, microfluidics, tissue-on-chip, and regenerative medicine; she has also conducted research in biochemistry, immunology, and analytical chemistry. She has over 400 publications, including 35 U.S. patents and four books, and has served on editorial boards for nine journals. Her inventions have been directly commercialized in 11 biosensor products used in food production plants, clinics in developing countries, pollution cleanup sites, and areas of concern for military and homeland security. She has mentored numerous university faculty and over 60 postdoctoral fellows, and co-published research with approximately 200 undergraduates.

Elected to the NAE in 2005, Prof. Ligler has served on the NAE Council from 2014 to 2020. She is a Fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the SPIE, and the National Academy of Inventors. In 2017 she was inducted into the National Inventors Hall of Fame (NIHF) for her inventions seminal to portable optical biosensors. She actively supports NIHF’s Collegiate Inventors Competition and signature program for K-6 students, Camp Invention.

Arden L. Bement Jr. is the David A. Ross Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Nuclear Engineering in the College of Engineering, Purdue University. He was presented the Arthur M. Bueche Award “for contributions to science and technology advancement, international relationships, policy development, and Academies studies, from executive positions in government, industry, and academia.” The award recognizes an engineer who has shown dedication in science and technology as well as active involvement in determining U.S. science and technology policy, and includes a commemorative medal.

Working for the government, Prof. Bement has held appointments under six U.S. presidents: director of the Office of Materials Science, DARPA (1976–1980), deputy undersecretary of defense for research and advanced technology (1979–1980), director of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) (2001–2004), and director of the National Science Foundation (NSF) (2004–2010). At NIST he oversaw the definitive investigation of the collapse of the World Trade Center Towers, and at NSF he expanded networking services for academic science and engineering research. He also served on the U.S. National Commission for UNESCO as co-chair of the Science and Technology Committee from 2004 to 2009.

In his industrial career, Prof. Bement was a senior research fellow at the AEC Hanford Laboratories operated by General Electric Co. (1954–65), manager of the Metallurgy Research Department and Fuels and Materials Department at the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL) operated by the Battelle Memorial Institute (1965–70), and vice president for technical resources and chief science and technical officer for TRW (1980–93).

  ------   News Item Archive  -----  
The Virginia Engineer on facebook
The Virginia Engineer RSS Feed