video overview

Publisher of The Virginia Engineer

Print-Publishing Services
Web Site Design-Coding-Hosting
Business Consulting


Scholarships Awarded to SkillsUSA Conference Winners
July 7, 2016

The Clifford H. “Ted” Rees, Jr., Scholarship Foundation has announced the award of scholarships for 56 students who competed at the SkillsUSA National Leadership and Skills Conference in the HVACR category. The Gold, Silver, and Bronze level winners in the secondary and post-secondary categories qualified for $2,000, $1,000, and $750 scholarships, respectively. All other competitors received $500 scholarships. The Rees Scholarship and SkillsUSA partnership began last year and is designed to support students with an established interest in the industry to continue their studies.

“These students already won statewide competitions, and by competing in the national conference, they’ve qualified for a scholarship commensurate with their achievement level to help them pursue careers in our industry,” said AHRI President and CEO Stephen Yurek. “We wish them success as they continue their education.”

Gold Medalists
Secondary: Joshua Haley, Partlow, Va.
Post-Secondary: Ryan Gallagher, Big Rapids, Mich.

Silver Medalists
Secondary: Nathan Zabrecky, Bardstown, Ky.
Post-Secondary: Peyton Sutton, Fitzgerald, Ga.

Bronze Medalists
Secondary: Hoyt Brown, Valhermoso Springs, Ala.
Post-Secondary: Randy Schunk, Willmar, Minn.

Secondary Finalists:
Wesley Snyder, Roswell, N.M.
Cody Windham, Brookville, Ohio
Blake Evans, Roxbury, Pa.
Scott Cersosimo, Charlestown, R.I.
Ean Anderson, Glendale, Ariz.
Edmarie Serrno Gonzalez, Bajadero, P.R.
Andrew Tignor, Charleston, W.Va.
Austin Rolfsmeyer, Wathena, Kan.
Jose Rameriz, Alhambra, Calif.
Austin Cromer, Gaffney, S.C.
Blake Moore, Milton, Fla.
Grant Bowley, Aberdeen, Wash.
Nick Massaro, Union Beach, N.J.
Ahron Keizer, Grand Rapids, Mich.
Ronald Perry, Villa Rica, Ga.
Jeffrey Hebert, Sutton, Mass.
Jared Thompson, Brockport, N.Y.
Sean Luciano, Pascagoula, Mass.
Kobe Champine, Berwick, La.
Ethan Fannan, Joplin, Mo.
Avery James, Mooresville, N.C.
James Smith, Dresden, Tenn.
Tyler Lord, Middletown, Del.
Patrick Machia, Waterville, Vt.
Christian Gabriel, Manhattan, Ill.
Haley Cole, Port Neches, Texas
Thomas Mascia, Westminister, Md.
Bob Ryker, Darlington, Ind.
Nicholas Chrostek, New Haven, Conn.
Colby Renfroe, Ardmore, Okla.

Post-Secondary Finalists:
Michael Horner, Mather, Calif.
Terry Jones, Springfield, Mo.
Tony Davis, Shreveport, La.
Carlos Ortega, Harlingen, Texas
Aaron Cochran, Reading, Pa.
Braden Borders, Elizabethtown, Ky.
Joshua Neumann. Creve Coeur, Ill.
Jason Mercer, Martin, Tenn.
Brandon Higdon, Higdon, Ala.
Andrew Black, Solomon, Kan.
Greg Smith, Milton, Fla.
Christopher Rose, Farmington, N.M.
Erik Reyes, Lewiston, Idaho
Mitch Lamon, Coweta, Okla.
Jesse Ferguson, Morgantown, W.Va.
Samuel Lytle, Saint George, Utah
Jeffrey Reichl, Greensboro, N.C.
James Buresh, David City, Neb.
Ryan Hill, Forest, Miss.
Matthew Peterson, Boone, Iowa

Since the Rees Scholarship Foundation was founded in 2003, it has awarded more than $440,000 in scholarships to more than 250 deserving students and instructors. For more information regarding scholarship application and award, visit the website

  ------   News Item Archive  -----  
The Virginia Engineer MobileOur Mobile site
The Virginia Engineer on facebook
The Virginia Engineer RSS Feed